St. Francis of Assisi:
Until the early 1950’s, Sunday Mass was celebrated at the home of the Reddy family as a mission of the St. John the Evangelist parish in Windsor. By 1952 the worshipping community had grown large enough and so liturgies were moved to the Community Hall. In June of 1957 the doors to a new church were opened and by 1959 the parish became a mission of St. John Vianney. In September of 1984, with the help of volunteer labor, a new multi-functional building was opened on the present site, and between1994–2000, the church facility was reshaped into the present condition.
St. John Vianney:
Prior to the establishment of St. John Vianney Parish, Catholics from Sackville, Beaverbank and Mount Uniacke attended church in Bedford or Windsor. There were less than 75 families when the parish was formed. In September 1959, St. John Vianney Parish was established by Archbishop Gerald Berry, by division of St. Ignatius Parish Bedford and St. John the Evangelist Parish, Windsor. The church was blessed in May 1964. In September 1988 the opening of the renovated and expanded Church took place.
St. Elizabeth Seton:
St. Elizabeth Seton worship community opened its doors in the present location in 1979 and entered into the unique relationship of sharing our worship area with St. Timothy Disciple-United until 1989 when St. Timothy’s made the decision to withdraw. On November 1, 1984 Archbishop James Hayes granted St. Elizabeth Seton Church full Parish status.
Holy Trinity Pastoral Unit
The three Roman Catholic Parishes of St. Elizabeth Seton, St. Francis of Assisi and St. John Vianney, in Lower Sackville-Mount Uniacke area united as Holy Trinity Pastoral Unit. This was approved by Archbishop Terrence Prendergast, S.J. on November 3, 2005. Our Pastoral Unit consists of over 3500 Catholic households.